Cultural Diversity International
Cultural
Diversity
    Heritage  
 Fr  En  Sp 
   
Homepage

Information

Experts

Periodicals

Actors and Expressions

 
 
« Being most characteristic      
shall enable one to be universal »
  M. Gorki

 

«At any time, in every place, each one of us and every human being is unique. Everyone of us is therefore surrounded and defined by others and by otherness. The other one thus multiplied bears the name : diversity ..... Yes, diversity is a reality of which we should become conscious and accept it. Diversity is a reality that disturbs us, holds us back and frightens us. It's up to us to show its beauty and its advantages and thus tranform it from an obstacle into a foundation to lean on. Individual uniqueness is the most important characteristic of the human race, and it is thanks to this uniqueness that voluntary and thoughtful exchange from one individual to the next is so beautiful.

Our challenge is to maintain and preserve individual diversity within the collective project and experience this diversity together. As such, if diversity is our richness, unity is our strength. This unity, which is based on words - the power of the spoken word, on values on which commun action is founded, on justice, freedom, liberty and equality in "the intelectual and moral solidarity of the human race". ..

Is it possible to preserve cultural diversity in a context of shared values? Let's be even more ambitious than that and conserve cultural diversity in our acts through the uniting of our minds. Once again Miguel de Unamuno saw far ahead sixty-five years ago when he said "The ultimate goal of the human culture may be to reach spiritual unison".

Federico Mayor, Directeur général de l'UNESCO,
Conférence intergouvernementale sur les politique culturelles pour le développement,
Stockholm 1998

.



 
Switzerland
International

 


©2001-2003 - Cultural Diversity

Cultural Diversity International
Cultural
Diversity
    Patrimoine  
 Fr  En  Sp 
   
Accueil

Information

Experts

Périodiques

Acteurs et Expressions

 
 
« C'est en étant le plus particulier      
qu'on peut être universel »
  M. Gorki

 

« A chaque instant, en chaque lieu, chacun de nous, chaque être humain est unique. Chacun de nous est donc entouré, cerné par l'autre, par l'altérité. L'autre ainsi multiplié porte un nom : la diversité ..... Oui, la diversité est une réalité. Nous devons en être conscient et nous en accommoder. C'est une réalité qui dérange, qui entrave et qui fait peur. A nous d'en montrer la beauté et les avantages, pour que, d'obstacle, elle devienne point d'appui. L'unicité de chacun constitue la caractéristique la plus importante de l'espèce humaine. D'où la beauté de l'échange, qui est volontaire, qui est élan réfléchi d'un être unique vers un autre être unique.

Maintenir la diversité des individus dans l'unité du projet collectif, préserver et vivre cette diversité ensemble, voilà le défi. En effet, si la diversité est notre richesse, l'unité est notre force. Unité forgée autour de quelques mots - une fois encore, la force de la parole - de quelques valeurs qui sont à la base d'une action commune. Justice, liberté, dignité, égalité dans « la solidarité intellectuelle et morale de l'humanité ». ..

Préserver la diversité culturelle dans un cadre de valeurs partagées ? Il faut être plus ambitieux encore : préserver la diversité en acte, grâce à l'unité en esprit. Une fois de plus, Miguel de Unamuno voyait loin, lui qui disait, voici soixante-cinq ans : « La finalité de la culture sera peut-être d'arriver à l'unité spirituelle de l'humanité ».

Federico Mayor, Directeur général de l'UNESCO,
Conférence intergouvernementale sur les politiques culturelles pour le développement,
Stockholm 1998




 
Suisse
International

 


©2001-2003 - Cultural Diversity